2018 Eagle Dinner Highlights

The 2018 Eagle Dinner proved to be a memorable night for our guests. Here are a few of the highlights: 

Guest speaker, Frank Tsuru

Frank Tsuru, NESA President, NEIC alumnus and guest speaker, made an excellent case for Eagles. Comparing his life experiences, not only of his, but of his parents; he expressed the importance of being true to yourself, committing to a “To Do List” and a “To Be List,” challenging yourself to review them regularly, while focusing on service to God, family, community and country. We were so proud that our Troop 51, Deerfield Eagle Scout came back “home” to share his experiences and thoughts for the future on behalf of our 2018 Eagle Class. A highlight was the introduction by his Scoutmaster, Don Martin.  (Photos: Frank Tsuru and his Scoutmaster, Don Martin – Frank Tsuru delivering message to Eagles – Frank Tsuru giving Eagle Pledge


NEIC Adams Service Project of the Year

Ian Mininni, Eagle Scout from Troop 90, Wauconda, received this year’s award. The NEIC Adams Service Project of the Year Award is given to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, a community, or another entity while doing his Eagle Scout service project. Ian’s project was not only presented beautifully and in a completely professional format, but was executed in a productive and meaningful way, truly exemplifying a commitment to service. Here are a few photos from the outdoor classroom that Ian and his Eagle team built at Cotton Creek Elementary School. The introduction was provided by Patrick McInerney, our Order of the Arrow Lodge Chief.


Eagle Scholarships

Four Dr. Charles Brown Memorial Scholarships and a Christopher Motes Memorial Scholarship were presented to five deserving young men this year, which was made possible by four generous donors; the Landgraf Family Foundation, Ken Morrison, the Stephen R. Murrill Family and D. Keith Ross. These scholarships will be sent directly to their institutes of higher learning to be applied to their tuition costs this fall. This year’s recipients were Eric Filipiak (secondary education), Ethan Hertzler (civil engineering), George Legan (mechanical and aerospace engineering), Patrick McInerney (engineering), and Carl Schoenfeld (geography and environmental management). Tom Krissek, NESA Scholarship Chair, introduced the recipients.

NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA)

Two exemplary Scouters received the NOESA at our 2018 Eagle Dinner. Tom Hopkins, the NEIC International Representative, was escorted by his nephew, Chris Richards, who was the impetus for Tom getting back into Scouting as an adult leader. As NEIC’s ambassador, Tom has met many international dignitaries, hosted our international camp staff and even a troop of Air Scouts from England. He works closely with our Scouts who are traveling across the globe representing the Northeast Illinois Council. He was introduced by two of our internationally-traveled Scouts, James Davies and Brendan Lawless.

Our second honoree, William Sholten, could not be there to receive his award, but is renown for his commitment to mentoring Eagle Scouts in Troop 20, serving in varies leadership roles and currently works diligently on the Northeast Illinois Council Executive Board. His award will be presented at a later date.

Eagle Palms

In true form, many of our Eagle Scouts have gone far beyond their 21 Eagle-required merit badges to continue earning and learning along the way. Their continued effort to show the true Eagle spirit has gone far beyond the badge.  This group photo shows our Eagle Scouts at the banquet who have earned palms in the past year. They were introduced by our emcee, Matt Jaeger, NESA Committee Chair.

A very special presentation

This year, our friend, Pat Lample, was recognized for her exemplary work as an Eagle mentor in the North Star District for 22 years by NEIC President, Greg Lawless. During her tenure, 1,522 young men have risen to become Eagle Scouts directly under her guidance.  Each one of those candidates has become one of “her boys,” as she refers to them.  Last January 1st she officially retired from being the North Star Eagle Chair.  She will still be present on boards and available to answer any questions that may arise for those on the Trail to Eagle. Needless to say, she was quite surprised.

You can visit our Facebook page to see our 2018 Eagle Dinner photo album with additional highlights from the event.


Leave a Reply