Board of Directors

Council Executive Board

The Northeast Illinois Council Executive Board is elected annually by the Council members at large and Chartered Organization Representatives.

The Executive Board is the governing body of the council territory, empowered by the council body to act in its stead. It takes action to achieve the purposes of the local council. It establishes the council program, carries out resolutions, establishes and enforces policy and hires a Scout Executive, all according to guidelines of the Council Body.

Among its responsibilities are:

  • Exercises all powers of the council body between meetings of the council. This does not include authority to change or amend the articles of incorporation.
  • Approves the program and plans of various committees.
  • Selects and employs a council Scout Executive when a vacancy occurs.
  • Approves and administers a budget adequate to achieve the objectives of Scouting.
  • Coordinates and supports the work of districts in various phases of Council Program and works to build strong district organizations.
  • Raises the dollars necessary to carry out a full Scouting Program in the Council.

2017 Northeast Illinois Council Executive Committee

President, D. Keith Ross

Commissioner, John Duncan

Treasurer, Chip Smith

Secretary, Doug Nelson

Vice Presidents

Executive Vice President, Greg Lawless

VP Administration, John Wolfson

VP Development, Ken Morrison

VP Learning For Life, Roycealee J. Wood

VP Legal, Steven Hunter

VP Membership/Rel, Dale Thomas

VP Operations, Curt Nerenberg

VP Program, Alison Davies

Immediate Past Presidents

John Landgraf

Ron Peterson

National Council Representatives

John Duncan

Ron Peterson

Chip Smith

Keith Ross

Executive Board Members

Legend (D – District Chairman, O – Officer, P – Past President)

David Bogetz (D)

Felicia S. Brandt

William B. Covington

Steve Cummings

Alison Davies

Bob Dold

John Duncan (O)

Mark Dunn

Clark Federer III, M.D.

Rick Gallagher

Hans Geyer (D)

Lee Haak

Judge Patrick J. Heneghan (P)

Steven Hunter (O)

Rick Jeffries

Captain David Kemp, USN

Pat Klemens

John Landgraf (P)

Andy Langan

Gregory Lawless

Thomas W. Macfadden

Larry Marshall

Thomas C. McILwee

Bethany Micksch (D)

Ken Morrison (O)

Doug Nelson (O)

Michael Nerheim

Curt C. Nerenberg (O)

Robert Orr (O)

Joanne H. Osmond

Bill Parthun

Ronald R. Peterson (P)

Greg Pinter

William B. Ratzer

Mayor Leon Rockingham, Jr.

Keith Ross, Jr. (O)

Michael Rubison

Michael Rummel (O)

William Sholten

Chip Smith (O)

Dale Thomas (O)

Dan Venturi

John Wolfson (O)

Roycealee J. Wood (O)

Advisory Council

Leroy Bair

Steve Chodash

Bruce Chudacoff

Rick Cummings

Brik V. Eyre

Anne B. Fay

John S. Fox

William E. Gregory

John C. Jadel (P)

Robert G. Markoff

John Marmet

Don Martin

Frank Martinek

Emery M. Moorehead

Robert E. Mueller

Raymond T. Murphy (P)

Stephen R. Murrill (P)

Edward Page

Robert Palmer

Jeanne Polydoris

Richard J. Schneider

John Schweig

Reed Snyder

Jon Stevens

William P. Stewart

Don Swanson

Albert B. Tucker

Larry Young

Honorary Board Members

John A. Canning, Jr.

Frank W. Considine

Steven Crown

Daniel M. Crown

James S. Crown

Joel M. Dalkin

John A. Edwardson

J.A. (Tony) Figueroa

William G. Fox

Don S. Harnack (P)

Jeffrey H. Hillebrand (P)

Gerald W. Howard

Vernon R. Loucks, Jr.

Barry L. MacLean

Brian G. Mason

John F. McDonough

David B. Mullen (P)

Thomas S. Ricketts

Samuel K. Skinner

Edward J. Wehmer

Terry Weppler

Norman H. Wesley