Cub Scout Advancement

What is Cub Scout Advancement?

On the Advancement Trail, a Cub Scout progresses from rank to rank, learning new skills as he goes. Each of the ranks and awards in Cub Scouting has its own requirements. As your Scout advances through the ranks, the requirements get more challenging to match the new skills and abilities he can manage as he matures. You can learn more about the Cub Scout Advancement Trail below, by clicking on your child’s age rank. Specific rank requirements are listed in the Cub Scout Handbooks which can be purchased in the Scout Store. There are also unofficial websites that list rank requirements and adventures. However, please keep in mind that these sites are not owned by the BSA and do not represent the views of the BSA or the Northeast Illinois Council.

Cub Scout Ranks:

Lion (Kindergarten)

Tiger (1st Grade)

Wolf (2nd Grade)

Bear (3rd Grade)

Webelos I (4th Grade)

Webelos II (5th Grade)

What about Cub Scout Adventures?

As a requirement for each rank, Cub Scouts complete “adventures.” But the fun doesn’t stop there: they can also complete additional elective adventures as they choose beyond those required for their rank. Tiger, Wolf, and Bear Scouts earn adventure loops to be worn on their belt, and Webelos Scouts earn pins they can wear on their Webelos colors or Webelos cap. Outside of adventures, there are additional special awards that both Scouts and Packs can earn. Learn more and earn more here!

I’m interested in learning all I can about Advancement!

You’ve come to the right place.  The BSA Guide to Advancement provides a detailed understanding of how the Scouting program works, from Lion Cubs to Eagle Scouts.