Our Mission

The mission of the Boy Scouts of America, Northeast Illinois Council is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

The Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

The Scout Law

A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent

NEIC District Map green

Where We Serve

The Northeast Illinois Council serves over 9,000 youth and 3,000 adults in Lake and Northern Cook County. NEIC is split into three districts.

Already involved in Scouting in North Star? Follow the North Star channel on IHUB!

North Star District serves the following communities: 

  • Antioch
  • Beach Park
  • Fox Lake
  • Gages Lake
  • Grayslake
  • Great Lakes Naval Base
  • Gurnee
  • Ingleside
  • Island Lake
  • Lake Villa
  • Lakemoor
  • Lindenhurst
  • Millburn
  • North Chicago
  • Park City
  • Round Lake Communities
  • Third Lake
  • Volo
  • Wadsworth
  • Wauconda
  • Waukegan
  • Wildwood
  • Winthrop Harbor
  • Zion

Already involved in Scouting in Aptakisic? Follow the Aptakisic channel on IHUB!

Aptakisic District serves the following communities:

  • Bannockburn
  • Buffalo Grove (Northeast)
  • Deerfield, Fort Sheridan
  • Green Oaks
  • Highland Park
  • Highwood
  • Kildeer
  • Lake Bluff
  • Lake Forest
  • Libertyville
  • Lincolnshire
  • Long Grove
  • Mettawa
  • Mundelein
  • Riverwoods
  • Roundout
  • Vernon Hills

Already involved in Scouting in Potawatomi? Follow the Potawatomi channel on IHUB!

Potawatomi District serves the following communities:

  • Evanston
  • Glencoe
  • Glenview
  • Golf
  • Kenilworth
  • Northbrook
  • Northfield
  • Skokie (Skevanton areas)
  • Wilmette
  • Winnetka

Visit Us

Kasperson Center for Scouting at Morrison Park & Pauly Scout Shop
850 Forest Edge Drive
Vernon Hills, Illinois 60061

Phone: 847-433-1813
Fax: 847-433-2036

9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Monday – Friday
9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. Saturdays

Our Leadership

President, Kenneth Morrison
Commissioner, Bethany Micksch
Treasurer, William Ratzer
VP Development, Andy Langan
VP Administration, John Wolfson
VP Learning For Life, Charmaine Hillary
VP Legal, Steven Hunter
VP Marketing,
Kent Middleton
VP Membership, Russ McNeilly
VP Member-at-Large, Ron Peterson
VP Operations, Pat Klemens
VP Program, Tom Macfadden

Bethany Micksch
Ronald Peterson
Kenneth Morrison

Felicia Brandt
Robert Dold, Jr.
Rick Gallagher
Armin Gerhardt
Anthony Giamis
Lee Haak
Patrick Heneghan
Paul Hettich
Andrew Hopkins
Steven Hunter
Richard Jeffries
Patrick Klemens
J. Andrew Langan
Gregory Lawless
Thomas Macfadden
Larry Marshall
Russell McNeilly
Bethany Micksch
Kent Middleton
Kenneth Morrison
Curt Nerenberg
Michael Nerheim
Daniel Peterson
Ronald Peterson
Gregory Pinter
William Ratzer
John Riddle
D. Keith Ross
R. Michael Rubison
S. Michael Rummel
Ayal Sharvit
William Sholten
Reed Snyder
Dale Thomas
John Wolfson

Council J. “Pete” Armstrong
LeRoy Bair
Kevin Baldwin
Brian Buesing
Bruce Chudacoff
Anne Fay
H. Clark Federer III
John “Jack” Fox
William Gregory
Charmaine Hillary
Robert Markoff
G. John Marmet
Stephen Murrill
Richard Schneider
Jonathan Stevens
William Stewart
Donald Swanson
Albert Tucker, Jr.
Larry Young

Annual Reports

Our annual report tracks our success and vision for the future.